CEE News

In the News

CEE Professor Tissa Illangasekare has been awarded the Prince Sultan Bin Abdulaziz International Prize for Groundwater for improving the fundamental understanding of fluid flow and chemical transport in porous media through innovative multi-scale experimentation and modelling, leading to the reliable prediction of the long‐term fate of pollutants in groundwater systems and the behaviour of multiple phase fluids in shallow and deep geologic formations. His research on the fundamental understanding of the behaviour of multiphase fluids in heterogeneous porous media has addressed issues of the permanent storage of CO2 in deep geologic formations, with a focus on the trapping of CO2 and potential leakage to shallow aquifers. His work addresses the mathematical modelling of multi-phase flow, the effect of geologic heterogeneity in enhancing capillary and dissolution trapping of supercritical CO2, and a benchmark modelling study of CO2 gas evolution in groundwater systems.

The ASCE 2017 H. Bolton Seed Medal was awarded to CEE Professor D. Vaughn Griffiths for his innovative software developments, publications, textbooks and professional short courses on finite elements and probabilistic methods. His highly cited work on finite element stability analysis has transformed the way engineers perform slope-stability analysis in practice.

The ASCE 2017 Ralph B. Peck Award was given to CEE Professor Ning Lu for his multiyear case study monitoring the subsurface hydrological and mechanical conditions leading to landslide occurrence on the coastal bluffs between Seattle and Everett, WA, and for using the data collected to develop a new hydromechanical framework for slope-stability analysis.

CEE Professor Terri Hogue is the lead investigator of a $1.95M U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA)  grant to Mines to develop a decision support tool to help communities evaluate alternative stormwater treatment technologies. The tool will evaluate options and risks as well as life cycle costs associated with improving stormwater runoff management using green, gray, and hybrid infrastructure. Other faculty involved in the grant's research are John McCray (CEE Department Head) and Christopher Higgins (CEE)

Professor Tzahi Cath (CEE) has been awarded a $1.5 million grant from the Geothermal Technologies Office of the U.S. Department of Energy to study membrane distillation desalination of impaired water using low-grade heat from geothermal power plants. The grant is part of a three-year, $4.8 million project led by the National Renewable Energy Laboratory in collaboration with Sandia National Lab, University of California, Riverside, GE, and Ormat. 

CEE Professor Terri Hogue and WE2ST Assistant Director Andrea Blaine were awarded $600,000 from the NSF for an RET (Research Experience for Teacher) Site. The Colorado School of Mines WE2NG: Water-Energy Education for the Next Generation will provide summer training and year-round support for 25-30 K-12 teachers over three years with the intention of infusing current research in the water-energy nexus into K-12 classrooms. 

CEE Associate Professor Linda Figueroa has been elected a Fellow of the American Society of Civil Engineering. Figueroa’s primary area of focus throughout her 30 years in environmental engineering has involved wastewater reclamation and mine water treatment.  In the last decade, her work has focused on synthesizing knowledge to develop and demonstrate sustainable technologies. She is co-editor of a book on Mitigation of Metal Mining Influenced Water and has over 100 technical publications in mine water and wastewater treatment. According to ASCE, "fellows have made celebrated contributions and developed creative solutions that change lives around the world. It is a prestigious honor held by fewer than 4% of ASCE members.”

CEE PhD student Bryan Coday has been awarded the 2015 W. Wesley Eckenfelder Graduate Research Award by a joint committee of members of the American Academy of Environmental Engineers & Scientists (AAEES) and Association of Environmental Engineering & Science Professors (AEESP). The W. Wesley Eckenfelder Graduate Research Award is given annually by the American Academy of Environmental Engineers and Scientists to recognize a student whose research contributes to the knowledge pool of wastewater management.  The award will be presented at the Academy's Awards Luncheon and Conference which will be held at the National Press Club in Washington, DC, on Thursday, April 23, 2015. The event also features the presentation winners of the E3S award winners, EComm awards winners, recognition of distinguished environmental engineers, environmental scientists, and professionals, and an all-day conference.

CEE Teaching Professor Candy Sulzbach has been named an ASCE Fellow effective January 2015.  According to ASCE, "Fellows have made celebrated contributions and developed creative solutions that change lives around the world. It is a prestigious honor held by fewer than 4% of ASCE members.”

CEE Professor Dr. Tissa Illangasekare has been elected President-Elect of InterPore and will subsequently become InterPore President in April 2017.  InterPore is a non-profit scientific organization established to advance and disseminate knowledge for understanding, description, and modeling of natural and industrial porous media systems.

CEE Associate Professor Tzahi Cath has been awarded the Ben L. Fryrear Professorship in the College of Engineering & Computational Sciences at CSM.  The award is for a period of three years.  Dr. Cath was chosen in recognition of his academic excellence, both in research and teaching.

CEE Professor D. Vaughan Griffiths partners in $14.4M Australian Centre for Geotechnical Science and Engineering. Dr. Griffiths serves as the sole non-Australian partner-investigator in the Australian Research Council Centre of Excellence for Geotechnical Science and Engineering based at the University of Newcastle, Australia. The CGSE was created following a seven-year award of $14.4M (AUD) from the Australian Research Council and is collaboration between the University of Western Australia, the University of Newcastle and the University of Wollongong in New South Wales. Mines is the only non-Australian partner institution and Griffiths was invited to be the only non-Australian partner.  The center is charged with providing a national focus for geotechnical research on energy and transport infrastructure and to optimize design of critical geotechnical systems to make them safer and more cost efficient.

CEE PhD Student Chris Ruybal was selected for a 2015 Colorado Water Institute Student Research Award funded by the National Institutes for Water Resource (NIWR).  The project Christ is working is titled Groundwater Recharge within the South Platte Basin.

CEE PhD student Jenna Shelton is one of four recipients of a John and Erika Lockridge student grant from the American Association of Petroleum Geologists (AAPG) for her research on how carbon dioxide may be stored during enhanced oil recovery.  Jenna is the featured student grant winner in the Nov 2014 issues of AAPG Explorer Magazine (page 59).  Her advisor is Prof. John McCray.

Dr. Terri Hogue has been reelected as the Secretary of the AGU Hydrology Section for 2015-2016. "The Hydrology Section is one of eleven in the American Geophysical Union. Its members are concerned with the cycling of continental water (solid, liquid and vapor) at all scales, and with physical, chemical and biological processes driven by that cycling."


© 2017 Colorado School of Mines | | Equal Opportunity | Privacy Policy | Directories | Text Only | Mines.edu | rss

Last Updated: 04/28/2017 07:53:36