Civil & Environmental Engineering

Graphical Version

Civil and Environmental Engineering

in the News

CEE Teaching Professor Candy Sulzbach has been named an ASCE Fellow effective January 2015.  According to ASCE, "Fellows have made celebrated contributions and developed creative solutions that change lives around the world. It is a prestigious honor held by fewer than 4% of ASCE members.”

CEE Professor Dr. Tissa Illangasekare has been elected President-Elect of InterPore and will subsequently become InterPore President in April 2017.  InterPore is a non-profit scientific organization established to advance and disseminate knowledge for understanding, description, and modeling of natural and industrial porous media systems.

CEE Associate Professor Tzahi Cath has been awarded the Ben L. Fryrear Professorship in the College of Engineering & Computational Sciences at CSM.  The award is for a period of three years.  Dr. Cath was chosen in recognition of his academic excellence, both in research and teaching.

CEE Professor D. Vaughan Griffiths partners in $14.4M Australian Centre for Geotechnical Science and Engineering. Dr. Griffiths serves as the sole non-Australian partner-investigator in the Australian Research Council Centre of Excellence for Geotechnical Science and Engineering based at the University of Newcastle, Australia. The CGSE was created following a seven-year award of $14.4M (AUD) from the Australian Research Council and is collaboration between the University of Western Australia, the University of Newcastle and the University of Wollongong in New South Wales. Mines is the only non-Australian partner institution and Griffiths was invited to be the only non-Australian partner.  The center is charged with providing a national focus for geotechnical research on energy and transport infrastructure and to optimize design of critical geotechnical systems to make them safer and more cost efficient.

CEE PhD Student Chris Ruybal was selected for a 2015 Colorado Water Institute Student Research Award funded by the National Institutes for Water Resource (NIWR).  The project Christ is working is titled Groundwater Recharge within the South Platte Basin.

CEE PhD student Jenna Shelton is one of four recipients of a John and Erika Lockridge student grant from the American Association of Petroleum Geologists (AAPG) for her research on how carbon dioxide may be stored during enhanced oil recovery.  Jenna is the featured student grant winner in the Nov 2014 issues of AAPG Explorer Magazine (page 59).  Her advisor is Prof. John McCray.

Dr. Terri Hogue has been reelected as the Secretary of the AGU Hydrology Section for 2015-2016. "The Hydrology Section is one of eleven in the American Geophysical Union. Its members are concerned with the cycling of continental water (solid, liquid and vapor) at all scales, and with physical, chemical and biological processes driven by that cycling."

Font Size