Faculty and Staff

Academic Faculty

Christopher Bellona

Christopher Bellona

Assistant Professor, Civil and Environmental Engineering
Membrane processes/Fate of organic contaminants in water and wastewater treatment; Potable water reuse. Advanced oxidation for the destruction of organic contaminants. Remediation of contaminated sites.
cbellona@mines.edu

Tzahi Cath

Tzahi Cath

Professor, Civil and Environmental Engineering Brackish water and seawater desalination; water and wastewater treatment engineering; potable water reuse; energy recovery in water treatment.
tcath@mines.edu

Joe Crocker

Joe Crocker

Teaching Professor, Civil and Environmental Engineering
Structural materials and design; geotechnical and structural engineering; curriculum development.
jcrocker@mines.edu

Linda Figueroa

Linda Figueroa

Professor, Civil and Environmental Engineering
Microbially mediated radionuclide and metals removal; biotransformation of nitrogen; application of molecular tools; water and waste treatment.
lfiguero@mines.edu

D.V. Griffiths

D.V. Griffiths

Professor, Civil and Environmental Engineering
Finite element modeling of geotechnical problems across a spectrum ranging from traditional areas of foundations engineering, to oil recovery geomechanics and probabilistic methods.
vgriffit@mines.edu

Andres Guerra

Andres Guerra

Teaching Associate Professor, Civil and Environmental Engineering
Innovative approaches to educate CSM students about civil engineering applications in geotechnical and structural engineering, land development, construction practices, risk assessment, and optimization.
aguerra@mines.edu

Marte Gutierrez

Marte Gutierrez

James R. Paden Distinguished Professor, Civil and Environmental Engineering
Geomechanics; coupled multiphase fluid flow, thermal and geomechanical processes in porous and fractured media; experimental studies and computational modeling.
mgutierr@mines.edu

Reza Hedayat

Reza Hedayat

Assistant Professor, Civil and Environmental Engineering
Geotechnical Engineering; Rock and Fracture Mechanics; Underground Construction and Tunneling; Applied Geophysics; Hydraulic Fracturing.
hedayat@mines.edu

Christopher Higgins

Christopher Higgins

Associate Professor, Civil and Environmental Engineering
Environmental organic chemistry; inorganic and organic contaminant fate and transport; contaminant bioaccumulation; perfluorochemicals; nanoparticles.
chiggins@mines.edu

Terri Hogue

Terri Hogue

Department Head and Professor, Civil and Environmental Engineering
Surface hydrology; catchment response to wildfire, urbanization and climate variability; watershed modeling, parameter estimation, remote sensing, and field studies.
thogue@mines.edu

Jeffrey A. Holley

Jeffrey A. Holley

Teaching Associate Professor, Civil and Environmental Engineering
Engineering mechanics; environmental studies; civil infrastructure design; storm water management; storm water quality enhancement.
jholley@mines.edu

Tissa Illangasekare

Tissa Illangasekare

Professor, AMAX Distinguished Chair Director, Center for Experimental Study of Environmental Processes (CESEP), Civil and Environmental Engineering
Subsurface flow; transport and fate of chemicals in porous media; groundwater hydrology; numerical modeling; fracture flow; flow in snow; NAPLs.
tillanga@mines.edu

Kristoph Kinzli

Kristoph Kinzli

Teaching Professor, Civil and Environmental Engineering
River mechanics; stream rehabilitation; water resources; agricultural water use; fisheries biology; engineering teaching pedagogy; and active learning.
kkinzli@mines.edu

Amy Landis

Amy Landis

Professor, Mines Presidential Fellow for Diversity, Civil and Environmental Engineering
Quantitative sustainability of renewable fuels; biobased products and plastics and healthcare. Developing new sustainability tools in Life Cycle Assessment, industrial ecology, & systems analysis.
amylandis@mines.edu

Hongyan Liu

Hongyan Liu

Teaching Associate Professor, Civil and Environmental Engineering
Teaching interests are engineering mechanics, structural analysis and design, and engineering materials. Research interests are structural engineering and earthquake engineering.
hyliu@mines.edu

Ning Lu

Ning Lu

Professor, Civil and Environmental Engineering
Soil physical phenomena including fluid flow, chemical transport, heat transfer, stress, and deformation; unifying atomic-scale potentials, inter-particle forces, and engineering-scale stresses in soils; groundwater hydrology, unsaturated soil mechanics, expansive soils, environmental geotechnics.
ninglu@mines.edu

John McCray

John McCray

Professor, Civil and Environmental Engineering
Contaminant hydrology; subsurface remediation; vadose-zone hydrology; subsurface vapor-transport; watershed hydrology; mathematical modeling; soil-based wastewater treatment.
jmccray@mines.edu

Michael Mooney

Michael Mooney

Professor, Grewcock University Endowed Chair, Director, Center for Underground Construction & Tunneling and SmartGeo, Civil and Environmental Engineering
Tunnel design and construction in soil and soil/rock conditions; earth dams and levees; data-driven risk reduction in geotechnical problems; instrumentation and monitoring; geoconstruction.
mmooney@mines.edu

Junko Munakata Marr

Junko Munakata Marr

Associate Department Head and Professor, Civil and Environmental Engineering
Biological degradation of organic compounds; microbial communities in groundwater and water treatment systems; application of molecular biology techniques to environmental systems.
jmmarr@mines.edu

Shiling Pei

Shiling Pei

Associate Professor, Civil and Environmental Engineering
Extreme hazard mitigation; structural reliability; modern timber structural systems; structural dynamics and earthquake engineering.
spei@mines.edu

Susan Reynolds

Susan Reynolds

Director, Thorson First-Year Honors Program and Teaching Professor, Civil and Environmental Engineering
Structural analysis and design; historic preservation technology; sustainable / integrated design approaches for buildings.
sreynold@mines.edu

Jonathan Sharp

Jonathan Sharp

Associate Professor, Civil and Environmental Engineering
Environmental microbiology and biogeochemistry; biotechnological applications toward groundwater remediation and water reuse; bacterial cytochrome-mediated degradation of emerging organic contaminants with a focus on micropollutants such as nitrosamines; bioattenuation of metals and radionuclides.
jsharp@mines.edu

Kamini Singha

Kamini Singha

Professor, Geology and Geological Engineering
Fluid flow and contaminant transport in porous media and fractured rock as well as groundwater-surface-water interactions.
ksingha@mines.edu

John Spear

John Spear

Professor, Civil and Environmental Engineering
Environmental microbiology; metalbioremediation; environmental policy and impact analysis.
jspear@mines.edu

Timothy Strathmann

Timothy Strathmann

Professor, Civil and Environmental Engineering
Catalysts and advanced materials for water and energy applications; hydrothermal biomass conversion technologies; wastewater and waste solid valorization; aquatic fate and treatment of contaminants of emerging concern; life cycle analysis-directed design of environmental technologies.
strthmnn@mines.edu

Alexandra Wayllace

Alexandra Wayllace

Teaching Associate Professor, Civil and Environmental Engineering
Areas of focus include designing and conducting experiments to measure different soil properties for saturated and unsaturated soils.
awayllac@mines.edu

Department Staff

Angela Knighton

Program Assistant
303-273-3420
aknighto@mines.edu

Kathryn Lowe

Senior Research Associate
303-273-3685
klowe@mines.edu

Cassie Glenn

Program Manager and Graduate Coordinator
303-384-2616
caungst@mines.edu

Jaime Bachmeier

Undergraduate Program Manager
303-273-3860
jbachmeier@mines.edu

Research Faculty

Abdulhadi Mahdi Almrabat, Research Associate, aalmraba@mines.edu

Colin Bell, Research Assistant Professor, cdbell@mines.edu

Wilson Stone Clayton, Affiliate Faculty, wclayton@mines.edu

Bryan Coday, Affiliate Faculty, bcoday@mines.edu

Paul Dahlen, Research Assistant Professor, paul.dahlen@asu.edu

Kelum Chamindu Deepagoda Thuduwe Kan, Research Associate, kdeepago@mines.edu

Deng, Peng, Research Associate, pdeng@mines.edu

Eric Dickenson, Affiliate Faculty, edickens@mines.edu

Joerg (Jörg) Drewes, Affiliate Faculty, jdrewes@tum.de

Pragnya Eranki, Research Associate, peranki@mines.edu

Luke Frash, Research Associate, lfrash@lanl.gov

Radek Fucik, Research Associate, rfucik@mines.edu

Yuanming Guo, Research Associate, yguo45@asu.edu

Shuangfeng Guo, Visiting Scholar, guoshuangfeng@mines.edu

Lee Landkamer, Research Assistant Professor, llandkam@mines.edu

Shijie (Moses) Leow, Research Associate, leow@mines.edu

Xinpo Li, Visiting Scholar, lixinpo@imde.ac.cn

Mingjing Lu, Visiting Scholar, lumingjing@mines.edu

Shuqi Ma, Visiting Assistant Professor, shuqima@mines.edu

Amy Martin, Research Associate, acmartin@mines.edu

Fanyan Meng, Visiting Scholar, fanyanmeng@mines.edu

Kristin Mikkelson, Research Associate, kmikkels@mines.edu

Soroush Mokhtari, Research Assistant Professor, smokhtari@mines.edu

Pongsak (Lek) Noophan, Research Associate, pnoophan@mines.edu

Andrew Pfluger, Research Associate, apfluger@mines.edu

Yong Qi, Visiting Scholar, yongqi@mines.edu

Weiwei Qin, Visiting Scholar, weiweiqin@mines.edu

Doritha (Dotti) Ramey, Affiliate Faculty, dramey@mines.edu

Jacqueline Randell, Research Associate, jrandell@mines.edu

Julia Regnery, Affiliate Faculty, jregnery@mines.edu

Michelle Schwartz, Research Associate, mschwart@mines.edu

Zhou Shi, Visiting Scholar, zshi@mines.edu

Robert (Bob) Siegrist, Research Professor, rsiegris@mines.edu

Kathleen (Kate) Smits, Research Associate Professor, ksmits@mines.edu

Kathryn Spangler, Research Associate, kspangler@mines.edu

Raul Tenorio, Research Associate, raultenorio@mines.edu

Andrew Trautz, Research Associate, atrautz@mines.edu

Johan Vanneste, Research Assistant Professor, vanneste@mines.edu

Gary Vanzin, Research Faculty, gvanzin@mines.edu

Michael Veres, Research Associate, mveres@mines.edu

Wei Wang, Visiting Scholar, wangwei@mines.edu

Hanyang Wu, Visiting Scholar, wuhanyang@mail.dlut.edu.cn

Xin Wu, Visiting Scholar, wuxin1@mines.edu

Boran Wu, Visiting Scholar, boranwu@mines.edu

Guowen Xu, Visiting Scholar, xuoguowen@mines.edu

Jing Zhang, Visiting Scholar, zhangjing@mines.edu

Adjunct Faculty

Paul Queneau

Adjunct Professor
Recycling and waste minimization; hazardous waste management

Paddy Ryan

Adjunct Associate Professor
Environmental biology, aquatic biology, nature photography, marine ecology
303-273-3650
patryan@mines.edu

David Grimm

Adjunct Professor
Construction engineering; project engineering; historic structures; structural condition assessment
281-831-4610
dfgrimm@mines.edu